Santa Fe Trail Association

Santa Fe Trail Association Hall of Fame

The Santa Fe Trail Association Hall of Fame has been established to recognize those individuals who were associated with the Santa Fe Trail during its historic period, or in modern times have made a significant contribution to, an impact on, or preservation regarding the Santa Fe Trail.  

Hall of Fame nominations must be made posthumously. There are two categories for nominations to the Hall of Fame:

Historic Hall of Fame

Who is Eligible:


 Individuals who lived prior to 1900 and traveled the Santa Fe
Trail and/or made a significant contribution to or had an
impact on history of the Santa Fe Trail.

Modern Hall of Fame

Who is Eligible:


 Individuals who lived after 1900 who have been significant in
the study of the Santa Fe Trail, or has made a significant
contribution to preservation of the Trail, historic information,
artifacts or remnants related to the Trail.

Any SFTA member may nominate someone for consideration for the Hall of Fame in either category and should include a 100+ word justification.  The Awards and Hall of Fame Committee of the Santa Fe Trail Association will evaluate all nominees to determine which nominees will be inducted into the Santa Fe Trail Hall of Fame.


To nominate someone, just click on the link below where you will find information for the nomination procedure. After completing your nomination, email the nomination to: or you may print it off and mail it to:  Santa Fe Trail Association, 1349 K-156 Hwy., Larned, KS 67550


Those persons inducted to date are:


  • William Becknell
  • Pedro Ignacio Gallego
  • Kit Carson
  • William Bent
  • William R. Gordon


  • James Aull
  • Josiah Gregg
  • Susan Shelby Magoffin
  • Marian Russell
  • Ceran St. Vrain


  • Catherine (Katie) Bowen
  • Isaac Bowen
  • William Russell
  • Alexander Majors
  • William Bradford Waddell


  • Lucien Maxwell
  • Mary Donoho
  • Lewis Garrard
  • “French Frank” Laloge
  • Ed Miller
  • Zebulon Pike
  • “Jack” Costello
  • Abraham Moore
  • Ashael Beach
  • Abijah Beach
  • George Armstrong Custer
  • Franz Hunning
  • Ernestine Hunning
  • William Mathewson
  • Elizabeth Mathewson
  • William Allison
  • Francis Boothe
  • George Peacock
  • Charles Rath
  • Charles Fuller
  • Lydia Lane
  • George Sibley
  • Francois X. Aubry


  • Julia Archibald Holmes
  • Pedro Sandoval
  • Frederick Hawn
  • James Kirker
  • Maria de la Luz Beaubien Maxwell
  • James Butler Hickok
  • Ned Wynkoop
  • Edwin Vose Sumner
  • Black Kettle (Moke-tav-a-to)
  • William Gilpin
  • Charles Bent
  • Robert Wright
  • Stephen Watts Kearny
  • Phillip St. George Cooke
  • Robert Morris Peck
  • Bennet C. Riley


  • No Inductees




Historic Inductions

Modern Inductions



Historic Inductions

Modern Inductions


Historic Inductions

Modern Inductions



Historic Inductions

Modern Inductions






Hall of Fame Nomination Form

Our Mission
The mission of the Santa Fe Trail Association is to protect and preserve the Santa Fe Trail and to promote awareness of the historical legacy associated with it.  The Santa Fe Trail Association’s purposes are exclusively charitable and educational within the meaning of Section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code.